Headed by the Deputy Commissioner, the Collectorate is the building that has all government offices and is the hub of the district administration. At this level the policies of the government are translated into practice. Deputy Commissioner/District Magistrate/Collector is the head of the district administration. In his multifarious duties, the Deputy Commissioner is assisted by the following officers for carrying out day to day work in various fields:-

  1. Deputy Development Commissioner
  2. Additional Collector
  3. Executive Magistrates
  4. Deputy Election Officer
  5. District Supply Officer
  6. District Land Acquisition Officer
  7. District Panchayati Raj Officer
  8. Assistant Director, Social Security
  9. District Social Welfare Officer
  10. District Planning Officer etc.

The Deputy Commissioner is the Chief Revenue Officer as District Collector and is responsible for collection of Revenue and other Govt. dues recoverable as arrears of Land Revenue and maintenance of land records. He deals with the Natural Calamities like drought, unseasonable rains, hailstorms, floods and fire etc.

Under the Registration Act the District Collector exercises the Powers of Registrar of the District and controls & supervises the work of Registration of deeds. He also functions as Marriage Officer under the Special Marriage Act, 1954. Further under the Cinematography Act, the District Magistrate is the Licensing Authority in his jurisdiction.

The District Magistrate is the head of the Criminal Administration of the District and the Police force is the instrument provided by Government to enable him to enforce his authority and fulfill his responsibility for the maintenance of Law & Order. The police force in a District is, therefore, placed by Law under the General control and direction of the District Magistrate, who is responsible that it carries out its duties in such a manner that effective protection, is afforded to the public and against lawlessness and disorder. The police administration is headed by the Superintendent of Police.

District Magistrate is thus responsible for the maintenance of Law & Order within his jurisdiction. He is conferred with very wide powers by the law, which is used prudently for effective maintenance of peace and tranquility. He can impose restriction on the movement of unlawful Assembly under Section 144 Cr.P.C. and can also impose curfew keeping in view of the situation.

He is authorized to inspect the Offices/ Courts of Sub Divisional Officers (Civil), Treasuries, Sub Treasuries, Jails, Hospitals, Dispensaries, Schools, Blocks, Police Stations, Second Class Local Bodies, Improvement Trusts and all other offices of Jharkhand Government. In this way, he has effective control over the Administration. Deputy Commissioner supervises all the developmental activities running in the district which includes Public Health, Education, Social Welfare, Welfare of Backward Classes and communities, Social Security measures, Maternity allowance to expectant mothers, Workmen’s compensations matters, Rehabilitation of displaced persons under various projects Aids for Religious and charitable Institutions and Endowments etc.